Discovering the world one day at a time!


There are beautiful lines sung after Aartis 🙂
Many of you might have heard it.

Here i make a small effort in explaining the meaning in limited words i come across 🙂
Hope this encompasses everything that is said by, a humble attempt to know the verse.. if any comments/corrections, please put it in comments section 🙂
Happy Reading!!

-Ghalin Lotangan Vandin Charan
Oh Lord! Will lie down and bow down at your Feet!

-Dolyani Pahin Rupa tujhe
Will see the beautiful form of yours through my eyes and

-Preme Alingin Anande Pujin
Will hug you with all my love and worship you with all the happiness within!

-Bhave Ovaalin Mhanen Naamah
And doing so, Will worship you with all devotion and will offer myself to you!

Nama (Saint Namdev) says, I worship (you) with all my heart (devotion, feelings)

-Twamev Mata Pita Twamev
After all, you only are my Mother, You are my Father;

-Twamev Bandhusch Sakha Twamev
You are my Sibling and my companion;

-Twamev Vidya Dravinam Twamev
You are the knowledge i seek for and the wealth i yearn for!

-Twamev Sarvam Mam Dev Dev
You are my everything, You are my Almighty God!!

-Kaayen Vacha Mansendriyevaah
Knowing this, With my efforts through body and by this limited intellect and senses,

-Buddhyatmnava prakrute swabhavat
So also through intellect,self,by nature and behaviour,

-Karomi Yad Yat Sakalam Parasmai
Whatever i do with all the above,

-Narayana Iti Samarpayami
I offer all that to You,Lord Narayana!!

-Achyutam Keshvam Ram Narayanam
Krushna Damodaram
Vasudevam Hari
Sridharam Madhavam Gopika Vallabham Janaki Nayakam Ramchandra Bhaje

Meaning: ( Below lines composed by Sri Adi Shankaracharya , as mentioned in the source cited below as Edit 2 , meaning also taken from the source )

1.1: I Salute You O Acyuta (the Infallible One), I Salute You O Keshava (Who nominates and Controls everyone, Who has beautiful Hair and Who killed the demon Keshi), I Salute You O Rama the Incarnation of Narayana (Who is without any blemish),
1.2: I Salute You O Krishna (Who attracts others by His Divine Attributes and Beauty) Who is known as Damodara (Who was tied by Mother Yashoda around the waist) , I Salute You O Vasudeva (Son of Vasudeva), I Salute You O Hari (Who takes away the Sins, Who Receives the Offerings of the Yajna),
1.3: I Salute You O Sridhara (Who Bears Sri on His Chest), I Salute You O Madhava (Consort of Mahalakshmi), I Salute You Who was the Most Beloved of the Gopikas (the Cowherd Girls of Vrindavana) and
1.4: I Salute You O Ramachandra the Lord of Janaki.

O Lord manifesting in the many forms, i salute and worship you..

 

-Hare Ram Hare Ram
Ram Ram Hare Hare
Hare Krushna Hare Krushna Krushna Krushna Hare Hare!!
All Hail to Lord Krishna Narayana!!
May HE continue to bless us with all the love!! 🙂

EDIT : Please also read this :What is the meaning of this Marathi/Sanskrit Mantra Ghalin Lotangan? 

EDIT 2 : Read here.

Love & Blessing,
JaiGurudeva!!
Swapnil 🙂

Comments on: "Meaning of Ghaalin Lotangan – Know the Verse!!" (19)

  1. Deb Mohanty said:

    Beautiful Swapnil. Thank you so much. With my limited knowledge of Sandhi & Sandhi vichedh in Sanskrit, I was struggling with some of the verses, with the meaning now complete, my faith in the lord Narayana is even more beautiful.

    Like

  2. Does any one have idea who wrote this aarti?

    Like

  3. Daniel Davis said:

    Namaste,

    Beautiful is not a good enough word to describe this short gathering of strong devotinal emotional sentiments. I hope to someday have such an ability to express my truest and deepest love and surrender to the lord in such a pure way. Thank you for this wonderful translation, it brought a tear to my eyes and caused my arm hairs to stand up. Amazing to read and hear.

    Like

  4. Thanks so……much Swapnil!

    Like

  5. Thank You, Swapnil for such a wonderful, wonderful translation. It made my day !

    Like

  6. Very nice…

    Like

  7. Namaste! greetings for the lyrics! I really like it 🙂 I want to ask you, is Galin lotangana an exclusive mantra of Lord Ganesha? if it is, why appears Krishna in the end? I don’t sing this song doing aarti because I don’t know if I am mixing two gods singing it… sorry, occidental doubts jeje. Can I use it usually on daily aartis to Lord Ganesha? However, thank you so much for reading and share this beautiful mantra 😉
    Jai Ganesha!

    Like

    • Hi Danny 🙂
      Thank you for the kind words expressed in the reply.
      There is a slight edit to the blog post, so request you to read the post again 🙂

      Now coming to your question, although i do not have adequate knowledge to answer the specifics, i will share what i know of 🙂
      See, in India after reciting the Aartis, dedicated to the various forms of Gods – Ganesha, Shiva, Durga, Vitthala, and so on.. we recite this “Ghalin Lotangan” .. i call it a prayer that speaks of Divine with Love and Respect, as you would read my interpretation of the lyrics, you would have an idea that it more of, has the wordings of a prayer.. And includes the salutations to various forms of Gods 🙂
      So this prayer , as i would like to call it, is not an exclusive mantra of Lord Ganesha, and so, you may sing this, after the Artis for Lord Ganesha and other Artis, that you will sing 🙂

      Hope that resolves your question 🙂 or you can connect with me on facebook : http://www.facebook.com/swapnilbawane or twitter.com/swapnilbawane to resolve your doubts 🙂

      Love and Regards,
      Swapnil 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Swapnil Bagul said:

    Nicely put….

    Like

  9. We touch the feet elders what exactly it’s mean,as touch the feet their is no reason

    Like

  10. really great work thanx alot may God bless u always

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

